The “Unsainted” video opens like a bad ‘70s horror film but quickly morphs into a performance offering, the highlight of which is definitely the band’s new masks.

In my mind the career of the band Slipknot has been bitter sweet.

I found them at a time in my life when I was re-discovering metal. I thought their self-titled (Slipknot – 1999) release was outstanding, the unbridled style and sharp lyrics helped me get through some difficult times.

My fervor for the band culminated in 2000 on the Tattoo The Earth tour when I saw them live with Slayer and Sevendust.

Then I lost interest. Their follow up album, Iowa (2001), just didn’t do it for me. I know this is a highly regarded release for the group but I grew up on the extremity of death and black metal, the intensity and musical direction of Slipknot was simply lost on me.

In 2004, Slipknot watered down their approach with Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses) and subsequently grew even more in popularity. The direction was unfavorable to me and whenever I heard songs from that album on the radio I changed the station.

2008 brought the album, All Hope Is Gone, a hybrid version of their true form. This was the last album to feature the original line-up and is currently their shortest album to date. A culmination of melody and brutality. Slipknot perfected their ‘new sound’. I was totally on board. Then the unthinkable happened, the unexpected death of longtime bassist and founding member, Paul Gray.

Like many, I assumed Slipknot would continue, it was just a question of when. In the end, it took six years for Slipknot to recover. The end result was, .5: The Gray Chapter (2014), an abrasive record that became a new cause of hope for the group.

Now, Slipknot has returned with, We Are Not Your Kind, scheduled for release on August 9th 2019 via Roadrunner Records.

A music video for the latest single “Unsainted”, was just released on May 16th. It was directed by Shawn Crahan more commonly known by his stage persona “Clown” or “#6. He is a percussionist and the only remaining founding member of Slipknot.

The “Unsainted” video opens like a bad ‘70s horror film but quickly morphs into a performance offering, the highlight of which is definitely the band’s new masks. Unusual colors and far-out art work provide a backdrop to display these frightening images come to life. The video is a feast for the eyes and holds a ton of replay ability. Especially, when you discover the appearance of a mysterious 9th member ….

On a heartbreaking note I wanted to mention, on May 18, 2019 Shawn Crahan announced, on multiple social media networks, that his youngest daughter, Gabrielle, had passed away at the age of 22. The cause of death is yet to be released.

While the new Slipknot album will undoubtedly arrive on time, the touring schedule of the band is surly in doubt. All I can say is Shawn and the band deserve to take whatever time is needed to heal. If shows are postponed or canceled so be it. Stay strong, we’re with you! \m/

Slipknot are:

  • (#6) Shawn “Clown” Crahan – Percussion, Backing Vocals
  • (#5) Craig “133” Jones – Samples, Media, Keyboards
  • (#7) Mick Thomson – Guitars
  • (#8) Corey Taylor – Lead Vocals
  • (#0) Sid Wilson – Turntables, Keyboards
  • (#4) Jim Root – Guitars
  • Alessandro Venturella – Bass
  • Jay Weinberg – Drums
  • Mystery Member – Percussion, Backing Vocals


Share this: